Richard L. Schilsky CALGB Achievement Award Sponsors

Abbott Astellas AstraZeneca Celgene Eisai EMD Serono

Trinidad Ajazi, MM Jane M. Armer, PhD Nancy L. Bartlett, MD Donald A. Berry, PhD Monica Bertagnolli, MD Clara Bloomfield, MD Denise Brennan Daniel R. Budman, MD. Harold J. Burstein, MD, PhD Lisa A. Carev, MD Andrew J. Carroll III, PhD Marc L. Citron, MD Harvey Jay Cohen, MD Debra Condon Nancy Daly Anthony D'Amico, MD Todd L. Demmy, MD Kandie Dempsey, MS, RN Lynn G. Dressler, PhD James A. Eastham, MD Martin J. Edelman, MD Merrill Egorin, MD Karen Elarde-McCuaig Stewart Fleishman, MD Gini Fleming, MD Stephen L. George, PhD Stephen Graziano, MD John Grecula, MD Mark Green, MD Stephen Grubbs, MD Dr. & Mrs. Hans Grunwald Olwen M. Hahn, MD Susan Halabi, PhD Daniel F. Haves Debra Herzan, RN Donna Hollis, MS Clifford A Hudis MD David D. Hurd, MD Mark Hurwitz, MD David Ilson, MD Ralph Johnson

Sin-Ho Jung, PhD

Genzyme Oncology Millennium Pharmaceuticals Novartis OSI Pharmaceuticals Pfizer Oncology Sanofi-Aventis

Philip W. Kantoff, MD M. Margaret Kemeny, MD Jeffrey J. Kirshner, MD Leslie J. Kohman, MD Jonathan Kolitz, MD Robert Kratzke, MD Ann LaCasce, MD Anand S. Lagoo, MD Richard A. Larson, MD John P. Leonard, MD Dr. & Mrs. Eric Lester Ellis G. Levine, MD Alan P. Lyss, MD Mark L. Maitland, MD, PhD James R. Marshall, MD James L. Mohler, MD Daniel M. Moore, Jr. Dr. & Mrs. Hyman Muss Donna Niedzwiecki, PhD Herbert Pang, PhD Barbara Parker, MD Ann H. Partridae, MD David J. Peace, MD Porterfield Family Foundation Kanti R. Rai, MD Karen Sartell Beth & Steven Schilsky Deborah Schrag, MD Katherine Shea Perry Shen, MD. Mary A. Sherrell, MA Lawrence N. Shulman, MD William Sikov, MD Lewis Silverman, MD Stephen Solomon, MD Wendy Stock, MD University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill c/o Richard Goldbera, MD Daniel Vaena, MD Everett Vokes, MD William Walsh, MD Eric Winer, MD



RICHARD L. SCHILSKY
Cancer and Leukemia Group B
ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

2018

Presented by the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology Foundation for Contributions to Cancer Research The Richard L. Schilsky Cancer and Leukemia Group B Achievement Award was established in 2010 to recognize the 15-year tenure of Dr. Schilsky as Group Chair of CALGB. The award acknowledges the significant contributions of an individual to cooperative group research. As an organization, it is vital for the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology to identify and honor the talented people responsible for its success. This award is made possible through generous donations from our members and industry supporters. It is presented each year during the Plenary Session of the Alliance Group Meeting.

2018 Award Recipient Gary W. Unzeitig, MD, FACS



Gary W. Unzeitig, MD, FACS, is a breast surgeon, Principal Investigator at Doctors Hospital of Laredo, and on staff at Methodist Hospital in San Antonio, TX.

Dr. Unzeitig is also Vice-Chair of the Alliance Health Disparities Committee, and

serves on the Alliance Board of Directors and Executive, Breast, Audit and Community Oncology Committees. In addition, he serves on the American College of Surgeons Clinical Research Program's Breast Cancer Prevention Committee and Surgical Standards Breast Group.

Dr. Unzeitig is lauded with helping to bring cancer clinical trials to Laredo in 2001, serving a largely underserved population. Most trials that were available had occurred at larger academic centers. Nearly 17 years later, more than one-third of his patients are on clinical trials, giving them access to new cancer therapies and cutting-edge medicine. His recent work has focused on studying the prevalence and type of BRCA mutation in Hispanics undergoing genetic cancer risk assessment in the Southwest.

Recognized by the National Cancer Institute's Cancer Trials Support Unit (CTSU), Dr. Unzeitig has been among the top enrollers to CTSU trials and received a Certificate of Outstanding Achievement in 2012. He has also received the American Society of Clinical Oncology's Clinical Trials Participation Award and was listed as a top accruing site at the ACOSOG Scientific Meeting in 2009. Locally, he was named Laredo Morning Times' Laredoan of the Year in 2012 for his work in breast cancer research.

Dr. Unzeitig received his medical degree from the Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine in Chicago, IL. He subsequently completed an internship in General Surgery at Los Angeles County University of Southern California Medical Center, and residency in General Surgery at Kaiser Permanente Medical Center in Los Angeles. He has maintained a solo practice in breast surgery for more than 30 years.